Close this search box.

Old Mersey Bluff Cemetery

Historical and heritage value

In 1887 the Council purchased 13 acres of land on the corner of what is now Bluff Road and Coles Beach Road (formerly Laycocks Road). Prior to this the deceased were ferried across the river to be interred at East Devonport or conveyed to the Congregational Cemetery Church at the Don.

The facility serviced the needs of Formby (Devonport) residents, including many early pioneers of Devonport whom are buried there along with some who have state-wide significance, notable examples being:

  • George Renison Bell (discovered tin mine at Zeehan)
  • John Jacques (first lighthouse keeper of the Bluff Lighthouse)
  • Beaumont Laycock (initiated the cemetery construction and an Overseer of Council)
  • Foster Leek (proprietor of the iconic Foster Leek Tea Rooms and Museum
  • John Luck, David Cocker, Caleb Hillier and Robert Masterman (pioneer businessmen and builders)
  • Wife and son of Bartholomew W Thomas (pioneer farmer)
  • George Williams and Harry Wood (boat builders)

The cemetery became full around the time of the First World War and was closed in 1922, other than for burials in family plots. Due to ongoing degradation and maintenance issues, the cemetery was converted to park land around 1963 and the remaining headstones were relocated together in one corner. A list of the names of those interred can be found on this page.



Status Closed
 Local/State/National Significance  Local significance
 Title Details/Lot Numbers/Site Characteristics  Located at the Mersey Bluff Headland
 Address Mersey Bluff, Devonport
 Public Open Space Classification  Formal park land
 Cemetery Type Monumental
 First Recorded Burial 25 October 1887 – Mr Thomas Lloyd
 Number of Recorded Burials  Over 450 known, some headstones are missing due to deterioration
 Number of Reservations Nil
 Denomination  Non denominational