Close this search box.

Art Award tidal.20 to be opened on Friday 4 December


Art Award tidal.20 to be opened on Friday 4 December

The opening and award presentation for tidal.20 City of Devonport National Art Award will take place on Friday 4 December at the Devonport Regional Gallery.

The winner of the Award will be announced at the opening of the exhibition.

The Award, now in its ninth instalment after the inaugural competition in 2004, attracted a record number of 162 entries, the highest number of entries in the Award’s history. Of these, 40 works were preselected to be included in the finalists’ exhibition by the judging panel.

The judging of the acquisitive Award will take place on Thursday 3 December, at the Devonport Regional Gallery.

The judging panel is made up of three judges: Janet Carding, Director of Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Patrick Sutczak, Associate Lecturer in Art, School of Creative Arts UTAS and Deborah Malor, Honorary Associate, Visual Arts and Design, Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery

Works by the following artists were preselected: Raymond Arnold, Ashley Bird, Liz Braid, Amanda Charge, Glen Clarke, Susannah Coleman-Brown, Janine Combes, Rebecca Coote, Louise Daniels, Selena de Carvalho, Richard Dunlop, Kylie Elkington, David Hamilton, Robyn Harman, Andy Hutson, Eloise Kirk, Nigel Lazenby, Kevin Lund, Penny Mason, Nancy Mauro-Flude, Milan Milojevic, Chris Morgan, Anne Morrison, Matthew Newton, Ciara O’Meara, Joanna Pinkiewicz, Sarah Rhodes, Jasmine Kiyomi Roe-Bose, Dexter Rosengrave, Troy Ruffels, Susan Simonini, Cheryl Sims, Melissa Smith, David Stephenson, Suze van der Beek, Martin Walch, Mary Wilson, Philip Wolfhagen, Steve Woodbury and Katy Woodroffe.

The $15,000 major acquisitive Award is sponsored by the Devonport City Council and the Devonport Regional Gallery Friends Committee. The Peoples’ Choice Award will be announced at the close of the exhibition and the artist will receive $1,000, courtesy of One Agency Collins Real Estate.

The Finalists’ Exhibition will continue until Saturday 30 January 2021.

Dates and times of special events:

Opening and announcement of Award Winner: Friday 4 December – due to social distancing measures, the opening is by invitation only.

Floor Talk: Janet Carding, Saturday 5 December 2020 – spaces are limited so please book by emailing [email protected].

tidal.18 opening night. 2 November 2018. Image Credit Kelly Slater Photography

Image: tidal.18 opening night 2 November 2018. 
Image Credit: Kelly Slater Photography

Media Contact:
Geoff Dobson |Director |paranaple arts centre
03 6424 0577 | 0419 505 838 |[email protected]