Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

2021 Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

2021 Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony

Honouring those who put others before themselves and celebrating the nation’s resilience and unity, is the focus of this year’s Devonport Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony.

Devonport Mayor Annette Rockliff said this year’s Australia Day presents a welcome opportunity to honour those people and community groups who have made a positive and significant contribution to Devonport after a challenging 2020.

Council will host the Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony at the paranaple convention centre on Tuesday, 26 January, from 10:00 am, with awards presented in three categories: Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Community Event of the Year.

Mayor Rockliff encouraged members of the public attending to be mindful of COVID-19 social distancing. Contact details will be taken to comply with COVID safety requirements.

As part of the celebration, Devonport will recognise and welcome 11 new citizens to our city, who have come from the Philippines, China, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand, Chile, and Taiwan.

“We respect that Australia Day holds a different meaning for many people,” Mayor Rockliff said.

“For Council, it provides the chance to honour our new citizens and pay tribute to those in our Devonport municipality that have dedicated their time to their community, and perhaps achieved great things in a very difficult year.

“Over the past year, our nation has faced fire, flood, drought and the coronavirus pandemic.

The local government sector’s role of bringing communities together on our national day has never been more important.

“Just as we’re all part of the story, all councils are an essential part of Australia Day.”   

Incat group founder and Chairman, Robert Clifford will be the Devonport’s 2021 Australia Day Ambassador and will present the address.

Mr Clifford has been credited with pioneering the world’s high-speed vehicle/passenger ferry industry.

For more 50 years he has steered the company to progress from boats to small commercial ferries through to large ocean-going vehicle carrying wave piercing catamarans, for which Incat is now world renowned.

Mr Clifford holds an Order of Australia award for services to industry, was Honorary Consul for Denmark in Tasmania from 1998 to 2016, is a founding member of Interferry, and former member of the Council of the Australian National Maritime Museum.

Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony

Where: paranaple convention centre, 137 Rooke Street Devonport.

Date: Tuesday, 26 January 2021.

Time: 10:00 am.

This event is open to the public.

Photo caption: At last year’s award winners with Mayor Annette Rockliff (from left) Robert Sly representing the 2019 Oceania and Australian Laser Championship, Pat Kent the Citizen of the Year and Caitlyn Walker the Young Citizen of the Year.

Media contact: Tahnia Creedon | Executive and Communications Officer | Devonport City Council
03 6424 0562 | 0427 132 972 |